Community Politics & GovernmentFeaturedWorcester County


Snow Hill, Maryland – On December 6, 2022, the Worcester County Commissioners elected Commissioner Chip Bertino as president and Jim Bunting as vice president of the board.

Commissioner Bertino was elected to the board in 2014 to represent District Five, the Ocean Pines District, and is currently serving his third term in office. Commissioner Bertino represents the County Commissioners on the Wor-Wic Community College Board of Trustees and the Maryland Association of Counties (MACo) Legislative Committee.

Commissioner Bertino has been in the newspaper publishing business for more than 30 years. He is a member and past president of the Ocean Pines Chamber of Commerce and a past board member of the Worcester County Veterans Memorial at Ocean Pines. He is co-author of the book “My Time, My Service” about the men and women honored at the memorial. Commissioner Bertino and his wife, Susan, have lived in Ocean Pines for nearly 30 years. They have three children and two grandchildren.

Commissioner Bunting was elected to the board in 2010 to represent District Six, the Northern District, and he is currently serving his fourth term in office. He previously served as president for three consecutive years, from 2014-2016. He is a retired professional land surveyor and has operated his own surveying and land planning business for 18 years. He represents the commissioners on the Commission for Aging, the Water and Sewer Advisory Committee, and the Maryland Association of Counties (MACo) Legislative Committee.

Before becoming a commissioner, he served on the Worcester County Board of Zoning Appeals for six years, leading the board as chair for four years. He served on the Worcester County Planning Commission for four years, leading the board as chair for three years. He also served on the Ocean Pines Comprehensive Planning Committee. Commissioner Bunting and his wife, Elisabeth, live in Bishopville. They have two grown children and one granddaughter.

The Board of Worcester County Commissioners is the seven-member legislative and executive branch of county government. Each commissioner is elected to serve a four-year term, and one representative is elected from each of the seven election districts. The current board was elected to serve the 2022-2026 term. The commissioners meet the first and third Tuesday of each month in the Worcester County Government Center in Snow Hill.

© 2022 Eastern Shore Undercover LLC TM/SM. All Rights Reserved.